RSS

What Am I Working On?

28 Oct

I’ve got a handful of paintings on the go right now. I usually don’t like to show my paintings to anyone before they are completed because they just don’t look good in the beginning stages. Having said that, I’ll show you the beginning stages of several paintings and then I will post the finished product as soon as they are done. Maybe this will encourage me to get the ball rolling on them!

18×24″ Acrylic on Canvas. I literally shiver when I look at this! It looks absolutely nothing like what I imagine the finished product will look like. I hope I can make it happen like I visualize it….

Oil on Canvas – The white lines are some guidelines I added with chalk once the oil paint was dry.

Here you can see that I’ve started to build up the bridge and added some colour to the water. Any idea what bridge this is? Hint, look at the painting above.

Acrylic on Canvas – 18×24″ – I’m at a bit of a standstill with this one. It was initially done for my mom to match some towels in the bathroom, however the white background is just not doing it for me. I think I’m going to tackle this one next since it’s bugging me so much… Wish me luck, I think I’ll need it!

So that’s it for paintings I have actually started. I also have a handful of ideas floating around in my head and blank canvases in my apartment waiting for some paint…

What do you think of the beginning stages of a painting? Can you imagine what the finished product will look like? This can sometimes be difficult since you can’t read the painter’s mind… Even though I obviously know what I want the finished product to look like, I still often don’t finish a painting because I get discouraged early since it never looks good in the beginning.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
