RSS

Missing My Bike

13 Nov

I started this painting with no idea what I wanted the finished product to look like. I only knew that I wanted it to incorporate a bike in some way. I think this stems from missing riding my bike everywhere. Some jerk stole the front wheel off my commuter bike a few weeks ago, and I have yet to buy a new one for it.

I started with a 36×24″ canvas, and painted a background using a palette knife and acrylic paint.

I added the bicycle and some details to the buildings.

A table and chair for children maybe?

At this point, I didn’t know what else to add, but I knew it needed something. I decided to add a little outdoor cafe patio. Then I realized that the table and chairs are teeny tiny compared to the bike right beside it! Oops!

I actually took my road bike and placed it beside my kitchen table before I redid this part in order to have a frame of reference as not to make the same mistake again.

Okay, that’s more like it.

Lastly, I just kept adding small details in such as a lamp post, a lady walking along the street, some flowers, and some wine and cheese on the table. Before I knew it, my initial painting of a bike turned into one of a french cafe.

The finished product. 36×24″ Acrylic on Stretched Canvas

Zoomed in view of the cafe

I’ve always wanted a bike with a basket in the front.

Zoomed in on the (french) bookstore.

My favorite part about this painting is the contrast between the calm and quiet life of going to a cafe and reading a book, versus the fast paced life that many of us tend to lead. The busy and loud road is meant to represent that fast paced life, while the bicycle, the cafe, and the book store represent the other extreme.

On that note, I think I’m going to go read a book and have a glass of wine before I hit the books tonight. My manufacturing assignment can wait…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Missing My Bike

  1. mtalian

    November 13, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    Really interesting approach and a great completed piece. Thanks for sharing. I love the texture!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

