RSS

Comfort Painting

24 Jan

We’ve all heard of comfort food. You know, the food that is easily made, tastes delicious, makes us feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Food that is good for the soul.

So what do I mean by comfort painting? On those days when I just want to sit back and relax and not worry about a thing, I usually engage in what I like to call comfort painting. That is, painting without thinking. There is no end product in mind, just paint going on a canvas step by step. Similar to comfort food, it is simple, enjoyable, and just makes me feel good.

At any given point, I usually have at least 2 or 3 paintings on the go. These are usually the non-comfort painting type. Their culinary equivalent would be that intricate recipe with 100 ingredients that takes 4 hours to prepare and leaves a huge mess in the kitchen. Enjoyable, but only on those days when you really feel like it. Lately, I’ve had no desire to continue tackling those, but I’ve engaged in quite a bit of comfort painting.

Step 1 - paint the background using a palette knife

Step 1 – paint the background using a palette knife

Step 2 - Add some of the foreground

Step 2 – Add some of the foreground

Step 3 - Continue building the foreground

Step 3 – Continue building the foreground

Finished Painting - Acrylic on three 12x16" canvases - Total size 36x16"

Finished Painting – Acrylic on three 12×16″ canvases – Total size 36×16″

Zoomed in Section

Zoomed in Section

Displayed in my room over my bed

Displayed in my room over my bed

I realize these paintings aren’t as interesting to look at as the non-comfort painting type, but while the thermometer is sitting at -39oC (that’s -38F for you American readers out there), I really can’t be bothered to do anything that requires thinking. So as the temperature rises, so will my painting creativity. Fingers crossed that happens soon. Ottawa, I’m over the cold. Let’s move on.

Hope you are all staying warm if you happen to be experiencing this lovely arctic-like weather.

What is your favorite comfort activity on such days? Or comfort food? As I’ve already mentioned, I enjoy comfort-painting, especially if it is paired with something warm and delicious from my crock-pot.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Comfort Painting

  1. hannahehagaman

    February 15, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    Your paintings are beautiful! I love this one in particular. I am an artist as well and love finding other bloggers who are painters. They are unique which makes you stand out as an artist. These are lovely.

     
  2. prettygirl1920

    February 15, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    Looks fantastic….love the fact you broke it up into 3 ….

     
  3. Know-All

    February 17, 2013 at 5:53 am

    the idea of taking your readers through the process of how the painting has been created- its very nice…specially for novices like me who know nothing about how to paint…

     
    • Agata Lawrynczyk

      February 17, 2013 at 8:42 am

      Thank you. I hope it inspires you to give it a shot. I try to break it down so that people can see that it’s really not that tough πŸ™‚

       
      • Know-All

        February 17, 2013 at 10:52 am

        haha…no way..requires way too much patience!! btw…cant help asking…who’s holding the umbrella in the painting? πŸ˜›

         
      • Agata Lawrynczyk

        February 19, 2013 at 4:05 pm

        It’s being held by *magic* haha

         
      • Know-All

        February 20, 2013 at 10:25 am

        πŸ™‚

         
  4. Hellie

    February 18, 2013 at 7:06 am

    I love your paintings ,coul you tell me what colors you used ?perfect for my living room.i have to say i love your stories i’m a mom too, and i really relate to your mom ; i like your mom have 2 children that i love to fuss over and cook for. they are out of college now, not married yet , and i am stiil very close with them . thank you for your inspiration.it is my time to start painting again.

     
    • Agata Lawrynczyk

      February 19, 2013 at 10:46 pm

      Hi Hellie,

      You’re right, you do sound just like my mom πŸ™‚

      For this painting, I believe that I used Crimson, Phthalo Blue, Purple, Black and White. And I think you should definitely start painting again;) On that note, so should I!!! First I was lacking time, now I have the week off from school but I’m lacking inspiration…

       
  5. Ashwin Rajaraman

    March 4, 2013 at 10:16 am

    Yes will motivate and inspire people to give it a try and btw mine is glass painting and hopefully a blog post will follow one of these days!

     

Leave a Reply

 
