RSS

Let’s Talk Weather

31 Jan

I’ve been putting off writing a post because I didn’t have anything even remotely insightful to say lately. I’m pretty sure the first rule of blog writing is don’t talk about the weather. Nobody cares about the weather! Well too bad, that’s all I got for ya today! And when the weather spikes from -40 to +10 degrees Celsius all within a week, I’d say that rule is asking to be broken. This painting I’m about to share with you seems appropriate for all the rain we’ve been getting, so sit back and enjoy.

If this painting looks familiar, it is because I painted it in parallel with this one so it essentially has the same colour scheme. It is another one of my comfort painting pieces.

I started with a background with a palette knife then drew some guidelines with chalk

I started with a background with a palette knife then drew some guidelines with chalk

Then I started to add some depth to it

Then I started to add some depth to it

Finally, I added a girl with an umbrella and some shadows, and called it a day.

Girl with the Red Umbrella - 12x16" Acrylic on Canvas

Girl with the Red Umbrella – 12×16″ Acrylic on Canvas

Side View

Side View

Zoomed in view of the girl with the red umbrella

Zoomed in view of the girl with the red umbrella

I had to swap my rain boots for my winter boots yesterday, although I think the temperatures are dipping down again today so maybe I’ll just skate to school…

So how did you like reading about the weather? Or do you just skim through and look at the pictures so it doesn’t really matter what I write about anyways? Either way, thanks for stopping by 🙂 Hope you’re staying dry!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Let’s Talk Weather

  1. Michael Doran

    February 1, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    Agata, I find your art refreshing…and relaxing. Thanks for sharing your process, too.

     
    • Agata Lawrynczyk

      February 3, 2013 at 9:02 pm

      I’m glad you enjoy it 🙂 Thanks for the kind words Michael.

       
  2. grumpus138

    February 2, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    Great stuff. It is always important (and frequently forgotten) to zoom in on the detail. Nicely presented work!

     
  3. sethsnap

    February 4, 2013 at 9:51 am

    I love this. Wow. It was great even before you put the girl in it. Thanks for sharing.

     
  4. Diane

    February 14, 2013 at 10:50 am

    I, for one, do notice what people write in their blogs but boy, come on, give us a chance! How are we supposed to draw our eyes away from that painting? If you can do something that good, thought provoking, when you’re feeling low with the weather, then I can’t wait for sun! Gorgeous piece

     
    • Agata Lawrynczyk

      February 15, 2013 at 11:57 am

      Diane, thank you so much for your kind words! Also, thank you for actually reading the blog post 🙂 It’s finally starting to warm up over here and I’m ready to get my paint brushes out again. I’ll be sure to share what I come up with.

       
  5. JKBradley

    February 15, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    I am enjoying your play with color and shadow. To bad I am only viewing on my mobile.

     
  6. Know-All

    February 17, 2013 at 5:49 am

    loved this talk on the weather…and of course the awesome paintings! 🙂

     
  7. cdmistry

    February 24, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    it is a beautiful work you have been doing out there. Great stokes. Keep up the good work

     
  8. dicklespot

    February 25, 2013 at 8:10 am

    Beautiful work!!

    p.s. Weather is one of my favorite topics of conversation!

     
  9. violetski

    February 25, 2013 at 11:02 am

    This is so beautiful!

     

Leave a Reply

 
