RSS

New Beginnings

10 May

What is it about starting something new that makes it so exciting? I don’t know about you, but I love change. I love new beginnings. I think the unknown is far more appealing and exciting than what’s routine and predictable. This personality trait has afforded me some amazing life experiences, like going on exchange in Australia, moving to Ottawa to study engineering, as well as traveling without a set agenda.

On the other hand, this personality trait may also explain why I start paintings ALL THE TIME and then never want to continue/finish them. This is slightly embarrassing, but I think I have at least 10 paintings on the go right now, most of which are just a completed background and not much else. I started some of these at least 6 months ago.

So plan for the summer is to finish them all. I’m not going to get ahead of myself and say that I wont start new ones in the meantime because that would pretty much be self inflicted torture, but as long as those 10 from the last 6 months get completed, I’ll consider it a success.

The one I’m going to show you in this post was started probably in late November 2012 shortly after this painting below.

At the time, I had imagined I would create a whole collection of similar paintings with different instruments. After the acoustic guitar one above, I started this one below, which is an electric guitar. It’s spanned across three 16×20″ canvases (as opposed to three 12×16″ ones like the one above) so it’s significantly bigger. Bigger is better.

Background

After completing the background and adding the guitar, I added the music notes. I kept the lines straight and bold since that’s how I visually interpret the music of an electric guitar versus the soft wavy lines of the acoustic guitar. This makes sense in my head.

48x20" - Electric Guitar - Acrylic on Canvas

48×20″ – Electric Guitar – Acrylic on Canvas

And some zoomed in views of each panel:

Left Panel - 16x20"

Left Panel – 16×20″

Middle Panel - 16x20"

Middle Panel – 16×20″

Right Panel - 16x20"

Right Panel – 16×20″

To give you a better idea of the size, here it is over my bed, which I believe is a Queen size.

I even made my bed for you

I even made my bed for you

And lastly, here is a side view. The painting extends along the edges so it does not need a frame.

Rock On

Rock On

The next one in the collection is going to be of a saxophone. Hopefully I can complete it before this one sells (which will hopefully be soon) and can display them together since I think they’ll look neat as a collection.

Do you like change or do you prefer routine? You already know my answer to this, I’d love to hear your thoughts. 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “New Beginnings

  1. Know-All

    May 11, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    change is the only routine! 🙂 And the painting is awesome!

     

Leave a comment